To cheer my three celiac children up we decided to buy a waffle maker and have a treat.
Maybe it was really to relieve some motherly guilt that I’ve been feeling. How, oh how is it possible that within the space of six months my son was diagnosed with T1D and celiac. Followed by two of his older siblings also being diagnosed with celiac.
Anyhow back to waffles. Here is the new toy.

20130406-211014.jpg

I found a gluten free recipe for Belgium Waffles @ livinglou
It was so good I made three batches.

Ingredients

2 cups of your favourite gluten free flour mix
1 tbsp white sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
4 eggs, separated
1 cup 2% milk
3 tbsp melted butter
3 tbsp vegetable oil
2 tsp vanilla

Directions

Preheat waffle iron. I like my waffles medium.

In the bowl of an electric mixer, beat egg whites until soft, glossy peaks form.

In another bowl, whisk the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.

In another bowl, whisk the egg yolks, milk, butter, oil and vanilla extract.

Mix the wet and dry ingredients together. Next, carefully fold in the egg whites.

Using a ladle, ladle the batter into the waffle iron and cook until desired doneness, about 4 minutes for golden waffles.

20130406-211414.jpg

I didn’t take a picture of the two pounds of bacon we ate with the first batch of waffles 🙂

